Layers

Layers allow you to group similar types of events together on your timeline. 

For example, in a timeline about your life, you might have one layer for places you've lived, one layer for places you've worked, one for your relationships, etc.

Create a New Layer

When you create a timeline, all events go in the same layer called "Events" though Preceden doesn't display the name of this default layer on your timeline:

You can add a new layer by clicking on the Add Layer link above your timeline: 

As an example, let's add a new layer called "Places I've Worked":

Since we added a second layer, the default layer's name ("Events") is now displayed on the timeline. 

You can change it to something more meaningful by clicking on the layer name on the timeline or by clicking its name in the list below the timeline. Let's change it to "Places I've Lived":

When you have multiple layers on your timeline, you'll be able to specify which layer you want events to be in:

By adding the new event to the "Places I've Worked" layer, it will be grouped separately from the events in the "Places I've Lived" layer:

Reorder Layers

You can reorder layers by clicking on the Reorder Layers link above your timeline: 

You can then click on and drag the layers up or down to reorder them. Be sure to click Update Order when you are finished to save the changes: 

Collapse Layers

You may want to quickly collapse a layer to hide its events in order to focus on other layers. 

You can do that by clicking the up/down arrow beside the layer's name on the timeline:

Collapsed layers are not displayed in PDF and image exports.

Layout Customization

By default, every layer uses the same layout as the timeline itself, which you can set by going to Settings:

Then click on Event Layout: 

Hide Event Details

Preceden will normally determine whether to show event dates and durations for events in this layer based on what you select in the Event Details section of the  timeline settings. You can check this Hide event dates and durations in this layer option to override those settings and always hide those details in this layer. 

This gives you the ability to show those details in some layers but not others:

Hide Layers

You can hide individual layers by clicking on the layer and then checking the Hide this layer checkbox.

Be sure to click the Update Layer for it to take effect. To re-show the hidden layer, click on the layer's name in the list below your timeline and uncheck this option.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us